Life and travel in France, 3 years & counting

Where should I go next?…

Rennes: Capital of Brittany

Rennes.locationBefore we move to Paris, there is this one trip I do not want to miss. Following my planning a while ago, we did a weekend trip to Rennes and 2 nearby towns.

(See blog: http://wp.me/p4N0ER-db )

Rennes, the capital of Brittany, is not the most visited city in France but during my brief time there, I find it more attracting and has more to offer than Nantes.

 

Rennes

Our first stop after the guided visit of the parlement (coming in the next post) is the city hall. Partly because it is just one street from the parlement (the round-shaped Opera is on the other side of the square), but mostly because I have this theory that the hotel de ville (city hall) is one of the most beautiful buildings in a city and I always make an effort to pay them a visit.

Rennes

 

Rennes

The half-timbered houses are my favorite and they do not disappoint in Rennes. There are a few hundreds of them remaining in Rennes so they are everywhere in the old town. In fact, among the Brittany cities, it is in Rennes you can find the most number of half-timbered houses.

Rennes

But the surprise goes to the cathedral (St Pierre). The exterior didn’t impress me but once I stepped inside, I found it stunning. A lot of cathedrals are dark inside but this one is very colorful, bright and shiny (exercise me for not finding a better word).

 

RennesRennesRennes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since we arrived in the early afternoon and then after the visit of the parlement, we didn’t have much time left for the rest of Rennes. We have missed the south of the city where the museums are located. To the best of my knowledge, Les Champs Libres is worth a visit.

I am sure if time allowed, you can discover more of Rennes hidden attractions.

Bon voyage à tous 🙂

Leave a Comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2015 by in Bretagne and tagged , , , .
March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow Life and travel in France, 3 years & counting on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

