Life and travel in France, 3 years & counting

Where should I go next?…

A 2nd workaway

Well it has almost been a month since I last updated. Part of the reason is that I haven’t travelled much and part of it is because of my laziness… So after the first workaway back in July, I had been looking for my next host. It wasn’t easy. I wouldn’t want to spend too much on the train ticket so I couldn’t travel very far. Brittany and Lower Normandy are basically all I can afford and this hugely limited my choice.

Workaway

This has to be the best accommodation you can get!

Workaway Anyway, after 2 weeks of searching, I finally reached an agreement to travel to Saint-Lo to help a family with their horses. The family has around 10 horses in the stable and another 10-15 around the house. The horses are for showjumping, some for breeding, some for competition. If I have to be real honest with you, it wasn’t the most interesting job in the world. I would be spending most of the morning cleaning the stables, feeding the horses and sometimes I would help washing the horses or even walking them. But how many people can proudly say that they have worked with horses? Besides, I like horses but it is not like I want to ride them after my first (and most probably last) attempt in Camargue, I guess this is the best I could get out of the horses.

Workaway

This is how the stable should look like after the cleaning

Workaway

The family gets around 10 horses here and each morning we came here to work

Workaway WorkawayI only stayed for a week and it was a shame that I wasn’t able to travel. But I was glad I went there after all! Til next time 🙂

Leave a Comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 25, 2014 by in Life in France and tagged , .
September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow Life and travel in France, 3 years & counting on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

