Life and travel in France, 3 years & counting

Where should I go next?…

Quimper and its cathedral

We weren’t meant to visit Quimper, the original plan was just to go to Brest.Quimper.location

But we finished the day earlier than I thought, and Quimper is just so far from Nantes. So we decided to stop by Quimper (it’s on the way back to where we were staying for the night anyway) even it was just for its cathedral. I saw the photo online and I wanted to have a look at it in person. It was kind of like now or never…

Well after 3 years in France and quite some travel in both France and Europe, I would say that I have seen my fair amount of churches.

QuimperQuimper

But this cathedral is superb for its size and height. And once you enter, its soaring roof is very impressive. It may not be the best church I have seen but it sure is one of the tops.

Quimper church inside Quimper church insideQuimper church inside Quimper church inside

I know the cathedral is not as well known as other cathedrals but I wouldn’t miss it if I were in the region.

Quimper

We also strolled around the center and the bank of the river. We didn’t stay for long but the city is charming.

Quimper

Odet River, lovely river with flowers on both banks

Bon voyage à tous 🙂

Leave a Comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2014 by in Bretagne and tagged , , , , .
August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow Life and travel in France, 3 years & counting on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

