Life and travel in France, 3 years & counting

Where should I go next?…

Capital Paris

I went to Paris not too long ago…

Paris may be a top destination for a lot of people and I am sure many will want to be in my place to go to Paris. However it wasn’t a sightseeing trip. I would be staying in the embassy for the whole day for some paperwork. (Growing up in a big city with everything, it is unbelievable I have to travel 2 hours to another city for some paperwork…) Not to mention that my train left at 6:30am and arrived back at 00:10am! An 18-hour trip really wasn’t something that I looked forward to.

paris.

Unfortunately for me, my whole day in the embassy was shortened to a 30-minute stay. What am I to say, they were way more efficient than I gave them credit for… In other words, I had more than 10 hours in Paris before my train back home.

For those who wonder why didn’t I change to an earlier train, the problem is that last-minute tickets are very expensive. I would imagine an extra 50 Euros for the next train while I originally paid 25 Euros for my ticket.

To pass my time in Paris, I came up with a plan to visit some sites that I hadn’t been to in my previous four trips…

Musée d’Orsay : The most famous museum in Paris after Musée du Louvre. I probably would never go in if it isn’t free for European residents under age 25. On a side note, it is not allowed to take photo inside the museum which is a shame…

paris paris

Pont des Arts : Although it is not THE Love bridge (Pont de l’Archevêché), Pont des Arts has its own collection of lovers’ locks. Even I have seen the photo, it is nothing compared to seeing it in real. It was such a shock to see a bridge so full of locks. (Well, the Paris government has taken all the locks down recently…)

paris paris

Centre Pompidou : Once again, it simply proves that I have no talent at all at arts. I had no idea what I was looking at. But I did appreciate the view from the fifth floor.

parisparis

Tour de Saint Jacques : Walking towards Hôtel de ville, you will come across a garden where the tour stands.

paris

Fontaine Saint Michel : I was searching everywhere for the fountain but it is right next to the metro station.And that’s just how beautiful Paris is, a fountain right around the corner.

paris

With that last stop, I ended up with a 7-km, 5-hour walk before I joined a friend.

Bon voyage à tous 🙂

Leave a Comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2014 by in Paris and tagged , , .
July 2014
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow Life and travel in France, 3 years & counting on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

