Life and travel in France, 3 years & counting

Where should I go next?…

St. Maries de la Mer: la Camargue

St. Maries de la Mer.locationThe Camargue is a natural reserve between the Mediterranean Sea and the Rhône river delta, famous for its Camargue horses, bulls and flamingos.

There are many operators providing trips (e.g. horse ride and 4×4 safari) to the Camargue. I had never tried riding a horse before so I opted for a horse ride trip in the end. And you know, maybe I could be an excellent rider, kind of like my secret potential perhaps…

St. Maries de la Mer

It wasn’t the case unfortunately. The instruction was all in French of course and it was one of the occasions where I wished I spoke better French. We took off before I figured out what to do exactly. I was doing all right thanks to the well-trained horses, they followed the instructor’s horse. Then the big moment came: jogging! I swear to God that I could have fallen off the horse, it was pure luck that I hang on… Over the one hour ride, we went through little path looking mostly at reed, but we did see the bulls. They were merely 10 meters away from us. If any of them decided to charge at us, we would be a dead man for sure!

I couldn’t say that it was the most exciting thing to do. Still, it is one thing that I can now cross off from my to-do list. It is also another thing that I will never do again in my life besides skiing (long story short, back when I was in Lyon, I went skiing once and I fell the whole day).

St. Maries de la Mer

Camargue bull, one that you can take pic up close

St. Maries de la Mer

After the ride, we finally went to Saintes Maries de la Mer. Some say that it is worth a visit but, personally, it is just another village. The two sides of the main street are restaurants after restaurants. However, if you like the sea, maybe it is the place for you after all. From the village name (la mer, the sea), you may already guess that it offers “sun on the beach”.

St. Maries de la Mer

I found these souvenir wine bottles in one of the shops. 5€20 for a bottle doesn’t seem expensive, but I am certain that it isn’t any good quality wine. And for that price, you very much can buy a decent one in the supermarket.

St. Maries de la Mer

There is this famous ornithological park in the area, but we didn’t have the time for a visit. Lucky for me, I spotted the flamingos and stopped for a pic.

Bon voyage à tous 🙂

Leave a Comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2014 by in Sud de France and tagged , , , .
July 2014
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow Life and travel in France, 3 years & counting on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

